The best bookstore in the world so far: Shakespeare and Company

I’m a bit of a self-proclaimed book nerd. One of my most important missions in life is to one day have a room with wraparound bookcases filled to the brim with all kinds of amazing books. If you ever need to get rid of me, just drop me off at a bookstore.

So when my friendly friends had class one afternoon in Paris, they casually suggested I meet them at Shakespeare and Company afterward. I think this might’ve been my favourite activity in Paris.

paris

At that time I didn’t know the beautiful story of how the store started up, or that it actually dates back to 1951, but I just absolutely loved the feel of it. And the fact that I wanted to own every single book in there. I loved how they don’t have a separate (smallish) section for the classics but that these are shelved in between everything else. So this is where I bought my only souvenirs from Paris – two books and a tote bag. To remember the best bookstore that I’ve ever been to.

One thought on “The best bookstore in the world so far: Shakespeare and Company

Leave a Reply

